AAAE Awards

Distinguished Service Award

The Distinguished Service Award (DSA) is one of AAAE's highest levels of recognition.  Men and women receive this award as a reflection of outstanding accomplishments in their professional and personal lives.  Respected leaders of their own communities, these men and women also contribute to other aviation organizations, serve AAAE and its chapters and participate in civic and community affairs.  DSA winners exemplify the best in airport management by continually bringing credit to the profession and the aviation community.  All DSA winners are Accredited Airport Executives (A.A.E.s)  and exemplify the standards accreditation seeks to inspire. 

If you have questions regarding the application or this award, please contact Gwen Basaria.


DSA recipients receive a $5,000 honorarium. In addition, AAAE will contribute $2,500 to the Foundation in the recipient’s name.


  • Current, full-time employment as an executive of a public airport

  • At least 25 years serving aviation in an executive capacity

  • At least one year in present job

  • At least 12 years executive voting membership in AAAE as an A.A.E.

  • Current, active A.A.E. status


You may nominate one colleague, or yourself, for the DSA Award by completing the nomination form online or by downloading an application below and emailing or mailing it in. The deadline to submit nominations for the 2018-19 awards is February 28, 2018. 

All application materials become the property of AAAE, and will be kept on file for consideration in future years.  

If you made a nomination or were nominated in the past, you do not need to fill out a new form.


DSA winners will be honored throughout the year at AAAE national, regional or local meetings.

AAAE DSA Award Winners

  • 2018 James E. Bennett, A.A.E., Phoenix, AZ
  • 2017 Alfonso Denson, A.A.E., Birmingham, AL; C.T. "Skip Miller, A.A.E., Louisville, KY
  • 2016 Elaine Roberts, A.A.E., Columbus, OH; Robert P. Olislagers, A.A.E., Englewood, CO
  • 2015 James Loomis, A.A.E., Lubbock, TX; Mark P. Brewer, A.A.E., Manchester, NH
  • 2014 Bern Case, A.A.E., Medford, OR; Bruce Carter, A.A.E., Moline, IL
  • 2013 James Rice, A.A.E., Flint, MI; Scott Brockman, A.A.E., Memphis, TN
  • 2012 Timothy Rogers, A.A.E., Salina, KS; Robert Bogan, A.A.E., Morristown, NJ
  • 2011 William Marrison, A.A.E., Knoxville, TN; Krys Bart, A.A.E., Reno, NV
  • 2010 Randall Berg, A.A.E., Salt Lake City, UT; John Duval, A.A.E., Beverly, MA
  • 2009 Kelly Johnson, A.A.E., Bentonville, AR; James Elwood, A.A.E., Aspen, CO
  • 2008 Gary Rice, A.A.E., Santa Maria, CA; William Barkhauer, A.A.E., Morristown, NJ
  • 2007 Kent George, A.A.E., Pittsburgh, PA; Barry Bateman, A.A.E., Milwaukee, WI
  • 2006 Thomas Binford, A.A.E., Billings, MT; James Smith, A.A.E., Newport News, VA
  • 2005 Thomas Greer, A.A.E., Monterey, CA; Bonnie Allin, A.A.E., Tucson, AZ
  • 2004 Loretta Scott, A.A.E., Grand Prairie, TX; James Koslosky, A.A.E., Grand Rapids, MI
  • 2003 Sam Hoerter, A.A.E., Charleston, SC; Alfred Graser, A.A.E., Jamaica, NY
  • 2002 James Morasch, A.A.E., Pasco, WA; Timothy Campbell, A.A.E., Salt Lake City, UT
  • 2001 James McCue, A.A.E., Glendale, AZ; Larry Cox, A.A.E., Memphis, TX
  • 2000 John Schalliol, A.A.E., South Bend, IN; J. Bruce Putnam, A.A.E., Billings, MT
  • 1999 James Thorsen, A.A.E., Idaho Falls, ID; Peter Drahn, A.A.E., Madison, WI
  • 1998 Robert Hancik, A.A.E., Springfield, MO; Thomas Schmidt, A.A.E., Lansing, MI
  • 1997 Mike Kutchins, A.A.E., San Antonio, TX; Lowell Pratte, A.A.E., Louisville, KY
  • 1996 Jerry FitzGerald, A.A.E., New York, NY; Hal Wight, A.A.E., Concord, CA
  • 1995 Bob Waddle, A.A.E., Columbia, SC; Dutch Bertholf, A.A.E., Phoenix, AZ
  • 1994 Ralph Tonseth, A.A.E., San Jose, CA; Larry Hedrick, A.A.E., Columbus, OH
  • 1993 Paul Gaines, A.A.E., Houston, TX
  • 1992 Jack Armour, A.A.E., Boston, MA; John Gwinn, A.A.E., Lewisburg, WV; Don Smith, A.A.E., Seattle, WA
  • 1991 Bob Michael, A.A.E., Louisville, KY; John Solomon, A.A.E., Kansas City, MO
  • 1990 George Bean, A.A.E., Tampa, FL; Robert Shea, A.A.E., Cleveland, OH; Henry Stuart, A.A.E., Dallas, TX, and Robert Ross, A.A.E., Grand Rapids, MI

No content found

No content found