Airport Innovation Steering Group (AISG)

The Airport Innovation Steering Group (AISG) is an organization of aviation leaders dedicated to making US airports more competitive globally through action-oriented innovation. AISG members determine industry priorities and authorize working groups that help airports harness emerging solutions and anticipate disruptive changes.

The AISG has a bias for action and measures success by the results of our Action Teams, which are AISG working groups with set objectives and timeframes that disband upon completion. Each Action Team is aimed at delivering innovation projects that are real, sustainable and scalable for the airport industry. 

How are we different? 

The AISG is focused on taking action and driving change. The group is intentionally small and nimble with a mix of member expertise and interests so the AISG can rapidly assess needs and quickly organize Action Teams around the highest industry priorities. 

  • A committee
  • A think-tank or research body
  • Open to all
  • An action-driven entity organized to maximize impact across the industry
  • Dedicated to conducting pilots
  • Deliberately small

How do we do it?

  • Priorities are identified in quarterly meetings. 
  • Leaders sanction Action Teams around specific topics and goals. 
  • Each Action Team has a clear objective, a set timeline, and clear responsibilities. Upon completion, the Action Team is disbanded.
  • Steering group appointments are at least one year. 
  • Membership cannot exceed 12 members.

Steering Group Co-Chairs

Justin Erbacci

Chief Innovation and Technology Officer
Los Angeles World Airports

Justin Erbacci was appointed Chief Innovation and Technology Officer (CITO) and Deputy Executive Director in July 2016. He is responsible for implementing LAWA’s overall Information Technology vision and strategy, in addition to leveraging innovative technologies and processes to enhance operations at Los Angeles International (LAX) and Van Nuys general aviation airports.

Dave Wilson

Director, Airport Innovation
Seattle-Tacoma International Airport

Dave leads Seattle-Tacoma International Airport's new innovation initiative. He collaborates with airport leadership and staff to identify, incubate and implement innovative solutions resulting in cost savings, new revenue sources, creative customer services and more. He investigates emerging technologies to determine their benefit to the Airport’s business units

Steering Group Members

Ben DeCosta
DeCosta Consulting, LLC

Dawn Gregory
Director, Innovation & Performance
Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport 

John Payne
Pueblo Tech

Kieran Sheridan
Chief Operating Officer
Chicago Department of Aviation (ORD/MDW)

Sarah Demory, A.A.E.
Assistant Aviation Director
Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport


Robert Kastelitz
Chief Innovation Officer
Denver International Airport

Paul Puopolo
Executive Vice President, Innovation
Dallas Fort Worth International Airport

Raj Singh
Managing Director
JetBlue Technology Ventures

Robert Galvin
Chief Technology Officer
Port Authority of New York and New Jersey

Katie McCoy
Research & Innovation Manager
Charlotte Douglas International Airport


Jesus H. Saenz Jr., IAP
Chief Operating Officer
Houston Airport System

Eduardo Valencia
Vice President/Chief Innovation Officer
Metropolitan Airports Commission