Airport Innovation Awards

Entry Deadline: May 31, 2019

Interested in getting the recognition your airport deserves for your innovative ideas and practices? The Annual Airport Innovation Awards, presented at the Airport Innovation Forum, is the perfect opportunity for you. 

How It Works

We’re looking for the most innovative and forward-thinking airports using the latest technologies and strategies to offer passengers the best traveling experience and improve operations. Interested airports should enter their innovation projects on the Innovation Index to register for the awards (see below). Winners will be recognized at the Forum and with a press release after the meeting. 

Award Categories

  • Large Hub: Awarded to the large hub airport deemed most innovative.  
  • Small/Medium Hub: Awarded to the small/medium hub airport deemed most innovative.

Nomination Guidelines

  • All submissions must be made online through the Innovation Index
  • Airports can submit as many innovation projects as applicable. All will be taken into consideration for the award.
  • Only airports are allowed to submit nominations.
  • AAAE will reach out to airports to request additional information if necessary.
  • Once a winner is chosen, the recipient will receive notification from AAAE. The winners will be announced during the Airport Innovation Forum.

Evaluation Factors

Nominated airports will be evaluated based on the following factors:

  • Culture – effectively encouraging a culture across the entire airport community (airports, airlines, concessionaires, and beyond) that accepts risks, takes chances, and rewards creative approaches.
  • Impactful Implementation – delivering on an original idea that results in clear, lasting and scalable benefits across the entire airport ecosystem.
  • Leadership – executing innovation in such a way that is shapes the industry, not just one airport.
  • Collaboration – inclusiveness across disparate stakeholders that demonstrates effective communication, planning, and a result that can be a model for the industry.

Previous Winners

  • 2016: Miami International Airport (MIA) (Press Release)
  • 2017: Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport (PHX) (Press Release)
  • 2018: (Press Release)
    • Large Hub: San Diego International Airport
    • Medium/Small Hub: Greater Rochester International Airport (NY)